Veganosity Lavender and Vanilla Bean Shortbread Cookies

I’m back with another Recipe Review post- and oh my goodness, these cookies are amazing!

IMG_2092[1]

As you can see in the title, I made the Lavender and Vanilla Bean Shortbread Cookies from veganosity.com . I had never even seen this blog before, but today, when I wanted to make cookies for The Kale Storm and just knew that they NEEDED to be lavender cookies, I happened upon it.

I could definitely see returning to this blog, because the writing of the post that I read was so appealing and sweet! And obviously, the cookies were amazing. So let’s talk details!

I made the recipe almost exactly as written; my only substitutions were using about 1/3 cup Earth Balance and 2/3 cup unrefined coconut oil for the fat instead of only Earth Balance (I ran out of Earth Balance), and using ground dried lavender instead of the whole seeds. I used the same amount of lavender, though. Also, the recipe calls for edible pansies + olive oil as a decoration on top of the cookies, and since I don’t have edible pansies, I used a generous sprinkle of cane sugar on top of each cookie for a decoration and for added sweetness.

I cut out my cookies with a mason jar, so they are slightly bigger than the size recommended by the recipe. That is why I got 21 cookies as opposed to 26-32.

Side note- we need to talk about whole vanilla beans. Today was my first time using them in a recipe and I love it! They are so fun to cut open- I love finding the seeds there, black and almost glittering inside the bean. Am I the only one who finds things like opening vanilla beans fun?

Overall, I love this recipe. The cookies are just so lovely and elegant. The lavender and vanilla flavors come out beautifully but are not overpowering, and the texture is perfect for a tea cookie- delicate, crumbly, and melt-in-your-mouth. I give this recipe a big 5/5 stars!

IMG_2090[1]

IMG_2092[1]

Question of the Day:Ā Are you in school of any kind? I’m a junior in high school, and today was a teacher work day. That’s why I was able to make these cookies this morning! šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Veganosity Lavender and Vanilla Bean Shortbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

